Meet one of Valley Leisure’s fittest!

Mark Raithby

Meet Mark Raithby – Valley Leisure staff member and father-to-be, 28, of Charlton has proved that he is one of the fittest people in Hampshire as he has been hand-picked by the Hampshire and IOW Workplace Challenge as one of their top 40.

Alongside companies across Hampshire and his work colleagues Mark has been documenting his exercise routine on the Hampshire and IOW workplace challenge website.

The aim of the programme is to promote sport, physical activity and health improvements across the UK’s workplaces. We caught up with Mark to ask him ab0out how he manages his work with his exercise.

  • How did you get involved in the Work Place Challenge?

“My work colleague Liz Murray informed me of the workplace challenge…and I love a challenge!”

  • How do you fit exercise in around your job?

“I exercise before of after work, I make sure I bring my gym gear with me to work so I have no excuse. I always prepare my food the night before and if I am training in the morning I will get my gym stuff ready the night before too.”

  • What kind of exercise do you do?

“My main exercise is strength and hypertrophy based (weights); every so often I do some cardiovascular too.  I also walk to and from work a few days a week and walk the dog every day.”

  • Do you have any tips for those who struggle to fit exercise in around their schedule?

“Exercise is a choice just like any other choice you make. We all know the benefits of it, but it is down to the individual to make the choice to exercise. Plan ahead and, if it helps, find a gym partner that will help to motivate you. “

  • How are your colleagues getting on?

“There is competition which adds some fun into the workplace challenge. I am very dubious of my colleagues points that they have accumulated, I would never use the word cheat but there has been some falsifying of points that’s for sure!!!”

WPC The team

The public can spend up to 60% of their waking hours at work, so taking part in the workplace challenge is providing workers with a fun and competitive reason to get their recommended 150 minutes of activity.

As well as numerous health benefits, adults who are more physically active are healthier, happier, less stressed and gain improved concentration which results in a better work-life balance and greater job satisfaction.

Struggle to find motivation? Get Motivated with Valley Leisure by trying one of our FREE 1-1 Gym Sessions, enquire to book HERE.

Leave a Reply

