6 month fitness diary: they’re nearly there!

Our competition winners are nearing the end of their 6 month challenges – so how are they getting on?

We find out who’s lost a stone, who’s favourite class is studio cycling and who’s pushing themselves on the home stretch:

Phil, member at The Rapids

We’re getting close to the end now! How are you feeling and how are you doing?
I’m feeling really good, and a lot fitter.
Even though I’m only managing to do one class a week right now, it’s still doing me good.

It’s getting so close to summer now – do you still feel on track for your goal?
Definitely! I’m hoping the good weather will encourage me to do more exercise.

How are you managing to keep it up with your busy schedule at the moment?
It’s difficult, especially with a lot on at work at the moment.
But I’m still managing to get in at least once a week.

What does your average week look like in terms of exercise?
I’m trying my best to do as much as possible.
I do get quite a lot of exercise at work, but it’s not the same as doing classes.

Is there anything else you feel could help you achieve your goals?
Having some free time would really help, but that’s not an option at the moment.
Hopefully, over the next couple of weeks I should be able to free some up – then I can really focus on more exercise!

Is there anything new you’d like to try over the next month, or are you just focusing on getting in?
It’s really about the getting in at the moment.
I would love to give all of the classes a go, just to try them out.
Even if it’s for my own curiosity, you never know – I might find a class I like more than studio cycling!
Right now, that’s my favourite.

Teoni, member at Andover Leisure Centre

We’re getting close to the end now! How are you feeling and how are you doing?
I’m feeling okay, but probably not where I wanted to be, if I’m honest – but that’s my own doing.
Now I am on the home stretch, it means pushing hard.

It’s getting so close to summer now – do you still feel on track for your goal?
I think I will be in a good position if I push this last section, then I will be happy.
Just a little more to do.

How are you managing to keep it up with your busy schedule at the moment?
It’s been crazy, but things are starting to wind down for the summer now, so things are easing off for me slightly.
Hopefully this means I have some more free time on my hands.

What does your average week look like in terms of exercise?
At the moment, not good.
Before, when I was making regular trips, it was about 3 or 4 times a week

Is there anything else you feel could help you achieve your goals?
I think the only problem is myself and learning to manage my time.

Is there anything new you’d like to try over the next month, or are you just focusing on getting in?
Just getting in at the moment

Samantha, member at Andover Leisure Centre

We’re getting close to the end now! How are you feeling and how are you doing?
It’s flying by!
The last month was quite slow starting, because I had knee problems, but I’m getting back into my swimming now.
I haven’t been up to the gym, but I’ve decided just to kind of do swimming for a while.
I’m still doing all the laps and still loving it.
Rather than doing a bit of gym and a bit of swimming, I’m just having a really long swim.

It’s getting so close to summer now – do you still feel on track for your goal?
Yes, I think spring helps.
It makes me feel all enthused and ready to get there and get going – and I’ve now lost a stone!
Which is a big thing for me. The first one of many! It’s a great milestone.

The tablets I’m currently on mean I put weight on, so for me to be going in the opposite direction is such a big thing.
And I wouldn’t have done that without this.

Do you feel like there’s anything else that could help you get there?
I’m enjoying it at the moment, but I really think swimming is my thing.
I’d like to sign up for some more Aquafit classes.
So that’s my thing this month. I’ll try to do as many as I can.

How are you going with finding motivation and energy?
I’m finding that I’m really motivated at the moment, even though I’ve had a bit of a blip with my funny knee and everything else going on.
So it feels really nice to just get back into it and carry on.

It’s great to see our competition winners doing so well!
Watch out for next month’s update to find out how they feel at the end!

Leave a Reply

