6 month fitness diary: they’ve reached halfway!

Doesn’t time fly?!

Our six month competition winners are already halfway through their free memberships!

Now that the days are longer and warmer, how are they getting on?

We find out if they’re still on track with their goals:

Phil, member at The Rapids

We’re at the halfway mark now! How are you feeling, compared to when you started?
I’m feeling a lot fitter and healthier now, and I can’t believe it’s been three months already!
Time really does fly when you’re enjoying yourself!

As well as the physical and fitness changes, in what other ways do you feel different?
All the exercise makes you feel so good inside.
It’s a great feeling to know that you’re doing your best to look after your health.

Your original goal was to feel more fit and healthy, and not feel so out of puff at work.
Do you feel you’re still on track to reach this?
Definitely. I feel a whole lot better after work, compared to before.

Have you been to have a programme put together in the gym?
And what did you think of your first Bodybalance class?
I’m still only finding time to go to classes at the moment.
I have tried Bodybalance once so far.
The jury’s still out on that one, but I’m sure when I’ve been a few more times I’ll enjoy it more!

Is there anything that’s been difficult, or set you back?
Not at all!
I keep enjoying it more and more.
I see setbacks as challenges, and I like a challenge!

It can be difficult to manage juggling life and work commitments.
What’s keeping you motivated to come in?
My motivation to get fit and healthy is keeping me coming in as often as I can.
It can be very different to juggle things around but still get some ‘me’ time.

What are your goals for next month?
My goals are to keep going to classes as often as I can, and carry on getting healthier.

What would  you say to someone who was struggling for motivation and encouragement to get healthy?
Just try it, and you won’t regret it.
Exercise makes you feel good about yourself and that has to be a good thing.

Teoni, member at Andover Leisure Centre

We’re at the halfway mark now! How are you feeling, compared to when you started?
I’m a lot more energetic.
Physically, I’m a lot more confident in how I look, and I’m a lot more toned than when I first started.
Which is great!

As well as the physical and fitness changes, in what other ways do you feel different?
I feel more ready for the day.
It makes me feel more positive and less stressed!

 So do you feel like you’re still on track to reach your goal?
I think I am, yes!

I know last month you were really busy, and were hoping to get to the gym more this month.
Did you get to or was it another busy month?
It was! I’ll have a couple of days where I come in every day, and then I’ll not be able to come in again for a few days.
I’m coming in whenever I can really.

How are you finding the motivation to come in when you’re so busy?
I’m finding it alright, I’m just making sure I’ve got the time aside.
But I know that if I want to come in, I’ll try everything to do it.

What do you think your goals are for next month?
Will things be easing up for you?
I’ve got my hen do next month! Hopefully I can get a load of sessions in before then.
I don’t know where I’m going or what I’m doing for it yet – it’s a surprise!
I am hoping next month will be easier.

What would  you say to someone who was struggling for motivation and encouragement to get healthy?
I think classes are good for people who are lacking in motivation.
The minute you finish a class, it makes you feel so happy

Samantha, member at Andover Leisure Centre

We’re at the halfway mark now! How are you feeling, compared to when you started?
I feel better. I feel stronger and fitter.
Although I’ve had a bit of a lapse as I had an ongoing chest infection, so I haven’t visited as much.

As well as the physical and fitness changes, in what other ways do you feel different?
I feel more motivated, generally.
Because I’ve been so ill over the last few years, I had got into a very negative way of thinking.
I’m much more positive now, and less critical of myself.

You seem to be doing well with your goal to feel stronger and healthier. Do you feel like you’re still on track?
I’m heading in the right direction.
But considering how unfit I was, even baby steps are an improvement!

How has the last week been? Have you been back to any aqua classes?
No, but my knee is better so I’m booking for next week.I’m really looking forward to it!

Last month you said you were heading in an upward direction. Is it still getting better?
It’s been more of a plateau sadly, but it’s made me even more determined for a new start.

It must be difficult to manage with health issues. What’s keeping you motivated to come in?
It’s really made me more determined to continue.
I know I didn’t go through all of my cancer treatments for nothing.
I want to be a good mum, and I need to get fit and healthy for my children.

What are your goals for next month?
Lots of swimming!
I’ve decided it’s really my thing and I just love the water.

What would  you say to someone who was struggling for motivation and encouragement to get healthy?
Even if you fail a thousand times, you can do it.
Deep inside we all have the strength and determination to improve ourselves, even if it’s very slow progress.
You need to change your mindset from any negative thoughts, to ‘what can I do?’
Life doesn’t go to plan so don’t beat yourself up when you have a setback.
Just make a plan of how to get back on track as soon as you can.

 

It’s great to see our competition winners doing so well!
Watch out for next month’s update to find out how they’re getting on as they reach the four month mark.

Leave a Reply

