6 month fitness diary: one month is up!

Last month we met our competition winners, who were given a six month free membership each.

Teoni Woodward Valley Leisure

One month on, we’re catching up with how they’re doing with their goals and targets:

Phil, member at The Rapids

How’s it all going? What activities have you been up to in your first month?
It’s going very well indeed!
This month I’ve been going to classes like BODYPUMP and Studio Cycling.

And which is your favourite?
I like BODYPUMP the most so far, but I’d like to try some other classes too.

How often are you managing to come in? How are you fitting it in around work and commitments?
I’m managing to come in once or twice a week at the minute, but I’d like to make it more.
Fitting it in is my biggest obstacle, because of family life and work commitments.

What changes have you felt?
I’m feeling fitter, but also finding that I’m feeling really good in my head after I’ve exercised.

Last month, you said that you’d like to be feeling more energetic, and not getting out of puff so easily. Has this happened?
I haven’t felt much of a change with this yet, but hopefully I will after a few more weeks.

How are you keeping your motivation up?
I’m managing it by telling myself that the exercise is good for me.
I’m not getting any younger, and the need to keep fit is important to me.

What have you found difficult?
I found BODYPUMP difficult at first – especially as I didn’t know the routine.
It’s getting much easier now I’ve been a few times, though.

Are you working to a gym programme put together by a member of the fitness team?
Not yet. I want to feel a little bit fitter, and then I will do.

Competition winner Teoni works through her new gym programme
Competition winner Teoni works through her new gym programme

Teoni, member at Andover Leisure Centre

How has it been going? What have you been up to in your first month?
It’s going so well!
Every week I’ve been going to 20 20 20 and Legs Bums & Tums classes, as well as coming to the gym.
I’m really enjoying it!

What’s your favourite activity?
I love Legs Bums & Tums. It hurts, but it’s well worth it!

How often are you visiting? How do you find fitting it in around work and other commitments?
I come in most days of the week, but weekends are a bit trickier for me.
During the week I tent to work out in the morning so I can crack on with work for the rest of the day.

You said last month that you’d like to feel more energetic. Has this happened? And have you seen any physical changes?
My fitness has definitely improved.
I can also notice that I’m getting a lot more toned, which is exactly where I wanted to be.

How are you keeping your motivation up?
I’m just keeping myself focused on my wedding.
My ‘no pain, no gain’ motto helps me to power through!

What have you found difficult?
I think I need to build up a bit more confidence in the gym.
I’m sticking to safe options, but I’d like to branch out a little bit more.

Have you had a programme put together by a member of the fitness team?
Yes, Al has put one together for me. I’m trying to stick to it!

Teoni Woodward Valley Leisure

Samantha, member at Andover Leisure Centre

How’s it all going so far?
I’m enjoying it, and finding it easier each time.
It’s really exciting when I find myself doing more tracks on a machine in the same amount of time!

What have you been getting up to?
I’ve been going to the gym a lot with my brother, and having a swim each time afterwards.
In the gym I’ve been doing things like using exercise bikes and leg weights.
It’s good having my brother there as he really pushes me, and encourages me to do 10 more!

What’s your favourite activity?
I’m really enjoying the swimming.
I haven’t started a class like Aquafit, so that’s my challenge for next month.
I’d like to try Pilates, or a yoga-based class too.

How often are you coming in to the centre?
I’m doing about four nights a week currently, and then one or two swimming sessions on my own.I’m doing more and more lengths each time.
I started at 9, and I’m now up to 24!

How are you keeping your motivation up?
I do feel tired when I get home from the gym.
But my motivation comes from having someone in the gym with me, and knowing that I want to make the most of this good opportunity.

What have you found difficult?
I’m aching! I think I’m getting used to feeling muscles I haven’t used for a long time.

Are you using a programme put together by a member of the fitness team?
At the minute I’m mainly working out with my brother, and I’ll be having a meeting with one of the gym team soon.

It’s great to see our competition winners doing so well!
Watch out for next month’s update to find out how they’re getting on as they reach the halfway mark.

One thought on “6 month fitness diary: one month is up!

  1. Pingback: 6 month fitness diary: how are they getting on? | Valley Leisure Lifestyle

Leave a Reply

