Valley Leisure’s 6 month fitness diary: meet the winners!

Over Christmas, Valley Leisure offered three lucky Facebook fans the chance to win six months free membership, to help turn around their health and wellbeing.

The winners have been chosen, and we’re going to be covering their journeys over the next six months.

Come and meet the gang:

Philip Barrington Valley Leisure

Phil was nominated by his wife Kelly, and will visiting The Rapids.

Congratulations on winning! Did you know your wife had nominated you?
I did, yes.

So it wasn’t too much of a shock?
It was a shock to win it!

Why did Kelly nominate you?
Kelly’s been coming to The Rapids for a few months now, and has done very well with losing weight.
She seems to think that I’m getting to the age now where I need to start looking after myself.
So now I’m here to get fit!

Now that you’re a member, what are your goals?
I’d like to get more fit and healthy. I’m not overweight, but I’d like to feel fitter.
I think I’ll mainly be using the gym but I’m also booked onto some classes.
I’m trying BODYCOMBAT and BODYPUMP with my wife this week!

Where would you like to be in a month’s time?
I’d like to say that I could do more activities in my work without getting out of puff.
I’m a mechanic, and I clean articulated trucks at the weekend, which is very physical. So I’d like to get not to worn out doing that.

Teoni Woodward Valley Leisure

Teoni nominated herself, and will be visiting Andover Leisure Centre.

Congratulations! Was it a surprise?
Yes, I’ve never won anything in my life!
I thought this would be great if I did get it, as I’m not motivated enough on my own.
So this will push me!

Why did you nominate yourself?
I’m getting married in August, and I’ve always said that I’d like to be at my physical best on my wedding day.
I don’t want to look back on my wedding photos, and think “I could have done more”.
I’m also lacking in energy, from working in front of a computer all day and not managing to get out enough.
So I’d love to be more physically fit.

What are your main goals?
I’d like to tone up, definitely.

Can you see yourself taking part in any events during this?
I don’t know really, I think I’ll have to see what comes up!

Where would you like to be when we catch up in a month?
I’d really like to be feeling a lot more energetic, and more up-and ready – and less lethargic.

Samantha Sumner Valley Leisure

Samantha nominated herself, and will be visiting Andover Leisure Centre.

Congratulations! Why did you nominate yourself?
I’ve wanted to join the gym for a long time, but I’ve had health problems in the last few years.
I had breast cancer, and the treatment from that has been difficult.
I’ve put on weight, and have had other health complications.
So now I want to get myself healthier!

With all of this, I haven’t been able to keep fit. I used to walk all over town, but now I can’t.
I’m looking forward to finding other ways to exercise.

Now you’re all joined up, what are your goals?
I’d like to go swimming every day, and do some toning exercises.
I’m a bit limited because of my treatment, but I’d like to try an aqua class.

Where would you like to be when we meet up in a month’s time?
I’d like to say that I’m seeing progress, and feeling stronger.
I’m feeling a bit weak now, but I’d like to not feel like such an old lady!

Good luck to all of our winners – we’ll catch up with them in February to find out if they survived month 1!

3 thoughts on “Valley Leisure’s 6 month fitness diary: meet the winners!

  1. Pingback: 6 month fitness diary: one month is up! | Valley Leisure Lifestyle

  2. Pingback: 6 month fitness diary: how are they getting on? | Valley Leisure Lifestyle

  3. Pingback: 6 month fitness diary: they’ve reached halfway! | Valley Leisure Lifestyle

Leave a Reply

